A LONG HARD LAZY APPRENTICESHIP OF DOING NOTHING

by

You would think by now that people would know better

Than to ask me what I have been doing with my time.

And you would think by now that I would have come up

With an answer that would silence them. But I still stumble,

Crumble and quail when faced with this thankless enquiry.

I suppose I could tell them the truth: that after all the brooding,

Abstraction and evasion, there just isn’t much time left

To do the work, or to tell the truth.

Tags: ,

One Response to “A LONG HARD LAZY APPRENTICESHIP OF DOING NOTHING”

  1. matthewahern Says:

    I listened to Matt Johnson tonight recite this poem. Wonderful that I’ve found this. I purchased the book from Amazon this evening and await it in earnest.
    ~Matthew

Leave a Reply

